Board and Committee Lead Bios

2018/19 Board of Directors:

President – Kim Fehr – Kim graduated from Norquest College in 2008. Since graduating, She has worked mainly in a hospital environment, primarily at the Royal Alexandra Hospital. She has spent 10 years at the Royal Alexandra Hospital and has been able to experience the technician regulation process as someone that has just embarked on their career. She is excited to be on board with PTSA. She hopes to help bring more PTSA awareness within the pharmacy world.


Vice President – Morgan Lahl – Morgan graduated from the pharmacy technician program at Robertson College in 2013. After her course completion, she was hired to work at Foothills Hospital and later got a position working at the Southern Alberta Clinic Pharmacy. She went back to her old stomping grounds and is currently the instructor for the Institutional Pharmacy program at Robertson College. Within Alberta Health Services, she was selected to become a Subject Matter Expert and have been attending Connect Care meetings to help with the process of transforming Alberta’s new health care system. She believes that the PTSA is crucial in advocating for pharmacy technicians and serves as an inspiration to keep moving forward. She is optimistic that in 2019 the PTSA can increase membership numbers.

Secretary – Roxine Yong – Roxine graduated from the pharmacy technician program at CDI College in Edmonton in 2014 and has been regulated since 2015. She is currently working at an independent community pharmacy with a strong emphasis on providing services/medications to supportive living facilities. Although she is still rather new to this career, she has learned a lot about the industry and the profession, and she is eager to continue her learning through volunteering with the PTSA.


Treasurer – Brianne Feduniw – Brianne graduated from Red Deer College in 2006 and has since worked with AHS- Central Zone.  She joined Pharmacy Services as a Technical Practice Leader in early 2018.  She has experience throughout the Central Zone in both urban and rural settings and was one of the first clinically deployed technicians in the ICU at the Red Deer Hospital. She has a passion for learning and engaging others and has special interest in assisting technicians work to their full scope of practice. Leadership and continuing education is something Brianne values which she demonstrates by also holding a Bachelor of Science from the University of Saskatchewan. She also has a keen interest in policy and quality improvement that lead to improved patient care and outcomes.

Membership Director – Ivan Yu – Ivan was born and raised in Southern Alberta and earned a Bachelors Degree in Neuroscience from the University of Lethbridge in 2000. Ivan found working in a laboratory did not appeal to him, so in 2003, he embarked on a new career in community pharmacy. He has worked at Wal-Mart, at an independent pharmacy, Shoppers Drug Mart, London Drugs and is currently working at Calgary Co-op. He completed his bridging program in December 2014 and began working as a regulated pharmacy technician in February 2015. Ivan enjoys interacting with patients and mentoring pharmacy technician students. He is an avid Flames fan, and enjoys word games, puzzles and catching Pokémon. Ivan looks forward to contributing on the PTSA board and making new connections.

Education Director – Carla Dumka – Carla started her career with Safeway in 1995. After several years with Safeway, she moved in to a role with Kroll Computer Systems. Carla spent 14 years working in Long Term Care with St. Michaels, then Capital Care Pharmacy. She has been with Alberta Health Services for 3 years and really enjoys her role at the Edmonton Remand Center. Carla received her pharmacy technician diploma from Red Deer College in 2002 and completed the bridging process in 2012. Looking forward to technicians expanding scope of practice and excited to be part of a great team of professionals!

Advocacy Director North – Christina Levien – Christina began her career in Manitoba in 2003 for Drugstore Pharmacy. She moved to Edmonton in 2006 and started with Safeway Pharmacy where she was an integral part of the committee responsible for creating their Pharmacy Assistant Training Program. In 2015 she entered institutional practice with Alberta Health Services and is currently working at the Royal Alexandra Hospital where she is the site’s Good Catch Champion for error reporting, as well as involved in multiple other committees. She also spends her time at Norquest College mentoring students as an instructional assiatant. She is excited to be part of the PTSA board and looking forward to expanding the scope of Pharmacy Technicians.

General Board Director – Engi Saleh – Engi has a bachelor of pharmaceutical sciences from Egypt, she completed the pharmacy technician bridging program and became registered in 2015, and she has been in the retail world since 2003. Currently she is working at Safeway pharmacy in Edmonton. She is confident in the near future, there will be a technician in every pharmacy in Alberta proving that pharmacy technicians are a valuable addition to pharmacy world.



Administrator – Teresa Hennessey – With many years of board experience, including two terms as President, Teresa looks forward to continuing to help support pharmacy technicians and the Society in her new role as PTSA Administrator. Since receiving her pharmacy technician diploma in 1998, Teresa has practiced in front-line and leadership roles in both community and hospital pharmacies and was the first registered pharmacy technician in Alberta. She is currently employed as a Practice Leader with Alberta Health Services. In addition to her “day job”, Teresa has extensive experience with other pharmacy organizations and was one of the first pharmacy technician observers appointed to the Alberta College of Pharmacy’s council. She has been extensively involved in the development of the practice framework for Pharmacy Technicians and is excited to continue that work with PTSA.

Communications Committee:

Website Administrator – Nick Burns (Calgary)

Communications Editor – Rhonda Bodnarchuk (Edmonton)

Administrator – Teresa Hennessey (Edmonton)

Conference Planning Committee:

2019 Conference Managers – Jennifer Bean and Laura Miskimins

  • Ryan Mapa (Co-chair)
  • Angie Huynh (Co-chair)
  • Amanjot Panesar
  • Kim Arbter
  • Meghan Peters
  • Roxine Yong
  • Samantha Russell
  • Shana Morris

Advocacy Committee:

  • Christina Levien (Chair)
  • Jennifer Bean
  • Michelle Galais
  • Danielle Harel
  • Teresa Hennessey
  • Morgan Lahl
  • Suzette Lewis
  • Lindsay Marks
  • Kimberly McKay
  • Laura Miskimins
  • Sharon Van Wert
  • Roxine Yong

Education Committee:

Calgary AreaTTCE Events Lead – vacant

Edmonton Area-TTCE Events LeadTamiza Dhanai – Tamiza’s career began as a writer but she changed her focus to pharmacy and graduated from a Pharmacy Technician Program in Vancouver, BC. She began working with Save On Foods in 1997 and continued to work in this retail setting as she completed her Bachelors of Applied Journalism. She moved to Edmonton in 2005 and started a teaching career. Tamiza have been a Pharmacy Technician Instructor with NorQuest College and CDI College. She became a regulated technician in 2013 and currently working in long term care. She is passionate about continuing education for pharmacy technicians and their expanding role. Tamiza looks forward to the future of Pharmacy and is excited to help Pharmacy Technicians in Alberta move forward through Continuing Education.

Red Deer-TTCE Events Lead – vacant

North -TTCE Events Leads – Laurie Lyle and Samantha Bruun