Meet the board & Committee leads


2020/21 Board Members

PresidentIvan Yu

Ivan’s pharmacy career began in 2003 as a pharmacy assistant. In December 2014, he completed his bridging program at Bow Valley College in Calgary and started working as a registered pharmacy technician in February 2015. He currently works full-time at Calgary Co-op’s Central Production Pharmacy. He welcomes the opportunity to precept and mentor pharmacy technician students and passing on his knowledge to them, so that they can grow and succeed. He is an avid Flames fan and enjoys going to live games. Volunteering with the PTSA has been extremely rewarding and invaluable to his growth as an individual. He has served as the membership/promotions director and promotions committee lead. He has also been involved with the communications committee and conference committee; as well as being a CE reviewer. Returning for another year, Ivan hopes to continue to grow, and to expand his social network.

Past PresidentMorgan Lahl

Morgan graduated from the pharmacy technician program at Robertson College in 2014. After her course completion, she was hired to work for AHS at Foothills Hospital and later got a position working at the Southern Alberta Clinic Pharmacy. She enjoys interacting with upcoming pharmacy technicians as an instructor for the Institutional Pharmacy program at Robertson College. She believes that the PTSA is crucial in advocating for pharmacy technicians and serves as an inspiration to keep moving forward. She hopes to promote more activities for members to participate in and get to know more individuals within the organization.

PTSA-photo-150x150.jpegVice PresidentLindsay Marks

Lindsay began her practice in Pharmacy in 2010. She started as a pharmacy assistant, then worked to receive a license with the Alberta College of Pharmacy as a Registered Pharmacy Technician in January 2016. When not on shift at the Sandstone IDA in Blackfalds Alberta, Lindsay serves as the Education Director for the Pharmacy Technician Society of Alberta. She is very passionate about advancing Pharmacy practice, while working to the top of her scope to provide the best possible health outcomes for all patients.

Diane-headshot-150x150.jpgTreasurerDiane Reeder

Diane is currently a team member of the Centralized Drug Production & Distribution (CDPD) Project within Alberta Health Services (AHS). Her past work experience consisted of roles in pharmacy that included management, administration, research and front line work. Volunteer work has spanned roles in the national body, Canadian Association of Pharmacy Technicians (CAPT), in an international group, Pharmacy Technicians International and previously for PTSA. She is looking forward to continuing the challenge.

Carlynn-headshot-150x150.jpgSecretaryCarlynn Bullock

Carlynn has been a Pharmacy Technician for 10 years having worked in retail, hospital, and long-term care pharmacies. She currently works at the Chinook Regional Hospital in Lethbridge. Because of her passion for her career and the profession, she wants to do all she can to advocate for Pharmacy Technicians. She is also looking for opportunities to build her leadership skills.

Samantha-Bruun-138x150.jpgCommunications DirectorSamantha Kennedy

With a decade of hospital and community experience, Samantha is continuing to develop her professional growth by joining the board. Her experiences have taught her that technicians have a voice and with the appropriate support from groups like PTSA, the profession may work to be heard and become a respected healthcare professional.

AM-ESESSION-2533_2_crop-150x150.jpgBoard DirectorAllie Weaver

Allie got her start in pharmacy in 2008, working as a pharmacy assistant until becoming regulated in 2017. She has worked in both community and hospital pharmacies and continues to do so now. She has been involved with PTSA in a variety of volunteer capacities; from promotions committee to conference committee. The thing she enjoyed most from volunteering with PTSA was the opportunity to find unique and exciting educational opportunities for technicians. She hopes to continue that and contribute to the growth and advancement of the technician profession as a member of the board.


AdministratorTeresa Hennessey

With many years of board experience, including two terms as President, Teresa has continued to help support pharmacy technicians and the Society in her role as PTSA Administrator. Since receiving her pharmacy technician diploma in 1998, Teresa has practiced in front-line and leadership roles in both community and hospital pharmacies and was the first registered pharmacy technician in Alberta. She is currently employed with Alberta Health Services as Operations Manager for the Royal Alexandra Hospital Pharmacy. In addition to her “day job”, Teresa has extensive experience with other pharmacy organizations and was one of the first pharmacy technician observers appointed to the Alberta College of Pharmacy’s council. She has been extensively involved in the development of the practice framework for Pharmacy Technicians and is excited to continue that work with PTSA.

Promotion and Communications Committee

ChairpersonRhonda Bodnarchuk

Rhonda began her career in 1996 and has seen many exciting changes to the pharmacy technician scope of practice over the years both for retail and institutional settings. She was excited to become a licensed pharmacy technician in 2011 and teach the bridging courses at Norquest college to help her peers through the transition. She served many years on the education committee, board and continues to support the society as an advisor for the communications committee.

Samantha Bruun

Joanne Fontaine

Teresa Hennessey

Lindsay Marks

Conference Planning Committee

ChairpersonAllie Weaver

Stephanie Braga

Lindsay Marks

Ivan Yu

Awards Committee

ChairpersonCarlynn Bullock

Ahmed Abouzeed

Neelu Duhan

Linda Hoang

Morgan Lahl

Melissa Salacki

Sharon Van Wert

Professional Affairs Committee

ChairpersonMorgan Lahl

Samantha Bruun

Teresa Hennessey

Diane Reeder

Elizabeth Schelske

Practice Development Committee

ChairpersonDiane Reeder

Jennifer Alsop

Teresa Hennessey

Practice Integration Committee

ChairpersonSamantha Bruun

Aisha Saghar

Membership Engagement Committee

ChairpersonAisha Saghar

Diane Reeder

Education Committtees

Edmonton Area - TTCE Events LeadTamiza Dhanani

Tamiza’s career began as a writer but she changed her focus to pharmacy and graduated from Vancouver Community College in 1997, as a pharmacy technician. She began working with Save On Foods and continued to work in this retail setting as she completed her Bachelors of Applied Journalism. She moved to Edmonton and started a teaching career in 2007. Tamiza has been a regulated technician since 2013 and has been a Pharmacy Technician Instructor with NorQuest and CDI College. She is passionate about continuing education for pharmacy technicians and their expanding role. Tamiza looks forward to the future of Pharmacy and is excited to help Pharmacy Technicians in Alberta move forward through Continuing Education.

South – TTCE Events LeadVacant

North – TTCE Events LeadsVacant

Calgary Area – TTCE Events LeadVacant

Red Deer – TTCE Events LeadVacant